Governor Quinn declares 38 counties in the state disaster areas

By WEEK Reporter

April 19, 2013 Updated Apr 19, 2013 at 11:01 PM CDT

CHICAGO, Ill. -- Governor Pat Quinn declared 38 counties state disaster areas on Friday after surveying flood damage caused by several days of severe storms and heavy rainfall.

Quinn says that the disaster declaration will accelerate and expand access to state emergency resources as well as allow the state to formally pursue federal relief and support.

Flash flooding and rapidly rising rivers and streams have forced evacuations, damaged or destroyed homes and businesses, caused power outages and closed numerous roads.

“We want to ensure that every county gets the assistance they need and this declaration will give every affected community access to available resources," Quinn said.

Counties included in the governor’s declaration include: Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, Marshall, Mason, McHenry, Mercer, Morgan, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Tazewell, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.