Illinois politicians call on President to provide relief for 16 additional counties

By WEEK Producer

MGN online

May 21, 2013 Updated May 21, 2013 at 3:36 PM CDT

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Illinois Congressional Delegation is calling on President Obama to add 16 additional Illinois counties to the recent Presidential disaster declaration for counties affected by flash flooding and river flooding last month.

On Tuesday, the group sent a letter to the President requesting that Bureau, Crawford, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Peoria, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Warren and Woodford counties be added to the declaration.

The letter comes in support of Governor Pat Quinn’s request, sent to the President on Friday, which cited reports from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency of more than 800 flood-damaged homes in the 16 counties.

On May 10, the President declared 11 Illinois counties federal disaster areas triggering the release of federal funds to help individuals and businesses recover from the severe flooding that began on April 18.

As part of that declaration, all Illinois counties have been designated for Hazard Mitigation Assistance areas which include funding for measures designed to reduce future losses to public and private property.