Tazewell County board cuts pension program membership

By Vanessa Johnson

Tazewell County board cuts pension program membership

August 1, 2013 Updated Aug 1, 2013 at 10:40 AM CDT

TAZEWELL COUNTY, Ill. -- County Board members in Tazewell County will no longer participate in an Illinois pension program.

In a 20 to one vote, Wednesday night, the Tazewell County Board terminated membership with the Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund (IMRF).

The vote comes just two weeks after the IMRF said it would audit the board in August.

According to IMRF requirements, all 21 Tazewell County Board Members must work 1,000 hours a year, about 19 hours a week, to qualify for the pension.

If the audit revealed that any of the members were not meeting that requirement, the entire board would have been deemed ineligible.

Wednesday night's vote is retroactive to December 1, 2012.

The seven board members who had been paying 4 percent of their salaries to the IMRF will be reimbursed.