Candidates put their names in for 2013 primary

By WEEK Producer

Candidates put their names in for 2013 primary

November 26, 2012 Updated Nov 26, 2012 at 10:58 PM CDT

CENTRAL ILLINOIS -- Filing is now complete for the 2013 primary election as the deadline was 5 p.m. Monday.

In Peoria City Council, seats are up for grabs.

In District 1, incumbent Clyde Gulley is running for township supervisor, leaving his seat open. Those seeking the seat are Denise Moore, Randall Emert Senior and at-large councilman Gary Sandberg.

In district 2, former at-large city councilman Chuck Grayeb will run against incumbent Barbara Van Auken.

Chad Grimm will run against 3rd district incumbent Tim Riggenbach.

John Kunski and Jim Montelongl will run for the 4th district to replace Bill Spears.

In the 5th district, Dan Adler, Casey Johnson and Patti Smith will face incumbent Dan Irving.

In the city of Bloomington, Mayor Steve Stockton has announced he will step down. Those seeking to fill his shoes are Tari Renner, Lex Green, and John Hanson.

For council, in ward 1, Kevin Lower will face incumbent Bernie Anderson.

In ward 3, Lane Hansen will face incumbent Mboka Mwilambwe.

In ward 5, Matthew Koetters will run against incumbent Jennifer McDade.

Running for the ward 7 seat is Scott Black, Ryan Fiala, and Bernie Uszcienski.

In Normal, the Mayor's seat and three council trustee seats are up for re-election. Incumbent Mayor Chris Koos will face challengers Victor Connor and JeVaughn Martin.

Running for the trustee seats are Jarrod Rackauskas, Kevin McCarthy, Scott Preston, Gary Ohler,Ron Ulmer, and Cheryl Gaines.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.