Finalists announced for ISU president

By WEEK Reporter

April 17, 2013 Updated Apr 17, 2013 at 9:50 PM CDT

NORMAL, Ill. -- The Board of Trustees of Illinois State University announced the finalists for the University's 18th president on Wednesday.

The finalists will visit the campus and participate in open forums from 2:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. on April 22, 24, 26 and 29 in the Old Main Room at the Bone Student Center.

Karla Hughes is a tenured professor, provost and vice president for academic affairs at Morehead State University.

Randy Dunn has been president of of Murray State University since December of 2006. Previously, he served as the state superintendent of education for the Illinois State Board of Education.

Timothy Flanagan has served as president of Framingham State University since August 2006. He is also a sociology professor at the university.

Finally, Larry Dietz has been the vice president for student affairs at Illinois State University since June 2011. Prior to coming to ISU, he was a vice chancellor for student affairs and special assistant to the chancellor at Southern Illinois University.

For more information on the candidates, visit

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.