Governor Quinn requests disaster declaration for 15 Illinois counties

By WEEK Producer

November 25, 2013 Updated Nov 25, 2013 at 8:58 PM CDT

CHICAGO, Ill. – Governor Pat Quinn has asked the President to declare 15 Illinois counties, including Tazewell County, as major disaster areas.

The disaster declaration would help residents and businesses recover from the violent outbreak of tornadoes across the state on November 17.

The counties include Champaign, Douglas, Fayette, Grundy, Jasper, LaSalle, Massac, Pope, Tazewell, Vermilion, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, Will and Woodford counties.

“The lives of thousands of people across Illinois were torn apart by this deadly outbreak of tornadoes,” Governor Quinn said. “We expedited the damage assessment process in order to submit this request and the required documentation as soon as possible. I encourage President Obama to quickly approve this request and help our communities recover and rebuild.”

Sunday’s severe weather damaged 2,441 homes, nearly 1,000 of those homes are uninhabitable.

If the governor request is approved, people in the approved counties would be eligible to apply for grants and low-interest SBA loans. In addition, affected businesses would be able to apply for low-interest SBA loans.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.