Quinn requests federal assistance in 11 counties damaged by floods

By WEEK Reporter

May 9, 2013 Updated May 9, 2013 at 8:34 PM CDT

CHICAGO, IL. -- Governor Pat Quinn is asking President Obama to help eleven Illinois counties affected by April floods.

Counties included in the request are Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will.

Gov. Quinn wants the President to declare the counties as major disaster areas so the residents and business owners can become eligible for grants and low-interest loans to repair damage.

Senators Dick Durbin and Mark Kirk are also sending a letter to President Obama asking for federal help.

The requests come as assessment teams with personnel from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and local officials tour the state surveying damage left by last month's floods.

Quinn says he'll continue to request federal aid as reports come in, including a request seeking federal assistance for local governments to recoup 75-percent of their eligible flood related costs.

Governor Quinn declared a total of 49 counties state disaster areas after torrential rains caused widespread flash and river flooding. His declaration made available a wide variety of state resources to help affected communities respond and recover from flooding. Those counties include: Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.