Wiles Wins 7th Consecutive Peoria TT Title

By Marc Strauss

August 21, 2011 Updated Aug 21, 2011 at 10:33 PM CDT

Two years ago Henry Wiles won the Peoria Grand National TT race with two broken wrists. On Sunday the 6-time defending champ was back on his bike less than 4 months after blowing out his knee and breaking his leg.

Determined to win his 7th straight Peoria title Wiles won the pole position and then led wire to wire. Jared Mees finished second and series points leader Sammy Halbert was third.

Chris Carr, appearing in his last Peoria TT, finished 6th. Carr holds the record with 8 straight Peoria TT titles and 13 overall.